“Our Lets Grow Program is a Great way to Find positive ways to Break traditional ways of doing business, to make better the Industry that we ALL Love and want to make money doing! We MUST find ways to keep up with a changing world market and our Committee’s focus is to help lead us into the future!”

Mike Corn, N.M.

HOME




Let’s Grow Mission: To support, promote and ensure the U.S. sheep industry's future through the development of innovative and sustainable initiatives that increase the productivity, profitability and growth of the American sheep industry, which will further enhance domestic wool and lamb production.


All questions about the Let's Grow program activities can be directed to the Program Coordinator, Alan Culham, at alan@sheepusa.org or 517-896-7379.


Upcoming Events

Replacement Ewe Selection and Culling of Underperforming Ewes

Join us for a webinar on Oct 03, 2017 at 7:00 PM CDT.

Register now!

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/842788142689768706

Presenter:
Susan Schoenian
Sheep & Goat Specialist
University of Maryland Extension

Host:
Dr. Jay Parsons, Department of Agricultural Economics
University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Time: 8:00 PM Eastern; 7:00 PM Central; 6:00 PM Mountain; 5:00 PM Pacific

Description:
The Sheep Roadmap Project identified productivity improvement as one of the US Sheep Industry’s priorities for survival and expansion. Percent lamb crop has always been the most important factor affecting profitability of a sheep enterprise, yet the national average is little more than one lamb per ewe exposed. It must be the goal of every sheep producer to maximize percent lamb crop, relative to his/her resource base. Deciding which ewe lambs to keep as replacements will have a major effect on achieving this goal. If ewe replacements aren’t genetically superior to the ewes they are replacing, genetic progress will be stalled. Equally important is deciding which ewes to cull from the flock. Underperforming ewes cost money, while adding little or no profit to the bottom line. Selection and culling decisions are guided by many factors and will affect the profitability of the flock for years to come. Sound, productive ewes are the foundation of a successful sheep farm. It's the ewes that make you money!

This webinar is made possible with funding support from the Let's Grow Committee of the American Sheep Industry Association.

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

View System Requirements