Utah Passes Under Cover Video Law
March 30, 2012
Last week, Utah became the second state after Iowa to pass new laws that prohibit taking photographs or videos on farms without permission. Violation of the law can lead to imprisonment up to a year and fines of up to $2,500.
It is the industry’s latest response to the rash of secretly videotaping production facilities by animal activist groups, who are calling such legislation “ag-gag” laws.
Earlier this month, the Iowa State Legislature outlawed the recording of undercover video in livestock operations. Those found guilty of violating it face up to a year in jail and up to $1,500 in fines. Repeated offenses can be labeled an aggravated felony and carry jail time up to two years and fines up to $5,000.